ANZ LMI Calculator (Independent Estimate)
Independent estimate, not ANZ's figure. LMI Calculator Australia is not affiliated with or endorsed by ANZ or Suncorp Bank. The range is built from LMI figures published by Australian lenders, three of them ANZ's, and it is not an ANZ rate. Only ANZ and its insurer set the premium on your loan.
Free · No sign-up · Checked 29 September 2026
Your result
You may not need to pay LMI. The 5% Deposit Scheme lets eligible buyers purchase with a 5% deposit and no LMI, up to $950,000 in this area. The estimate below is what you would pay without it.
- Loan
- $630,000
- LVR
- 90.0%
Likely LMI
$9,400 to $18,300
Typical lender figure: $12,600
- Duty on LMI in Victoria: 10% of the premium. Lenders' examples do not say whether they include it, so the top of the range adds it. This is the state's general insurance duty rate, so confirm it with your lender.
- LVR after adding LMI to the loan: 91.3% to 92.6%.
- To avoid LMI: add $70,000 to your deposit to reach 20%. Try the home deposit calculator.
Closest published lender figures
Range built from 27 LMI figures published by 8 Australian lenders, checked 29 September 2026. How this is calculated.
Estimate only. General information, not credit or financial advice. Your lender and its insurer set the actual LMI premium.
To get ANZ's own figure, ask ANZ when you apply. Its LMI guide (anz.com.au) says "If your loan with ANZ requires LMI, ANZ will arrange it and will tell you the cost of the premium", and its LMI fact sheet (PDF, anz.com.au) sets out the refund rules.
Checking another bank or state? Use the LMI calculator.
In short
- ANZ publishes three LMI figures: $17,699 on a $720,000 loan at 90% LVR, $36,187 on a $760,000 loan at 95%, and about $8,000 on a $400,000 loan at 90%.
- ANZ Lenders Mortgage Insurance Pty Ltd, an ANZ subsidiary, insures ANZ loans, and its licence lets it insure only loans ANZ originates.
- ANZ may refund 50% of the premium within 12 months of the policy starting, or 25% within 24 months, but it is not required to.
- ANZ says GST and any stamp duty are included in its LMI cost.
- ANZ is a 5% Deposit Scheme lender. Suncorp Bank is not, and it uses QBE for LMI.
How much is LMI on an ANZ loan?
| Home price | LVR | Loan | Typical LMI | VIC range, top incl 10% duty | QLD range, top incl 9% duty | LVR with typical LMI added |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| $450,000 | 90% | $405,000 | $8,100 | $6,000 to $11,700 | $6,000 to $11,600 | 91.8% |
| $450,000 | 95% | $427,500 | $18,000 | $12,600 to $24,700 | $12,600 to $24,500 | 99.0% |
| $800,000 | 90% | $720,000 | $14,400 | $10,700 to $20,900 | $10,700 to $20,700 | 91.8% |
| $800,000 | 95% | $760,000 | $31,900 | $22,400 to $44,000 | $22,400 to $43,600 | 99.0% |
ANZ's own published LMI figures
| Source | Scenario | Published LMI | Our NSW range | Where it sits | Document date | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ANZ broker LMI waiver sheet: legal professionals (PDF) | $800,000 price, $80,000 deposit, $720,000 loan (90% LVR) | $17,699 | $10,700 to $19,000 | Inside our range | Item No. 97349D, April 2024 | 29 September 2026 |
| ANZ LMI waiver sheet: medical and dental practitioners (PDF) | $800,000 price, $40,000 deposit, $760,000 loan (95% LVR) | $36,187 | $22,400 to $40,000 | Inside our range | Item No. 97349A, August 2024 | 29 September 2026 |
| ANZ Security Guarantee page | $400,000 owner-occupier loan (90% LVR, 92% with LMI added) | Approximately $8,000 | $6,000 to $10,500 | Inside our range | Modified 1 May 2025 | 29 September 2026 |
Who insures ANZ home loans?
ANZ uses its own insurer. ANZ Lenders Mortgage Insurance Pty Ltd (ABN 77 008 680 055), known as ANZLMI, is a wholly owned ANZ subsidiary. ANZ's Kingfisher 2025-1 securitisation memorandum (18 August 2025) names it as the mortgage insurer and says its APRA licence lets it insure only loans "originated by, or on behalf of, ANZBGL". APRA lists it as authorised to write new insurance business, as at 29 September 2026. ANZ's own consumer pages call the product "ANZ LMI" without naming the company. What LMI is, and why it protects the bank rather than you, is in our lenders mortgage insurance guide.
The memorandum covers one pool of loans, and ANZ does not say whether any loans go to an outside insurer, so we call ANZLMI ANZ's insurer without claiming it covers every ANZ loan. ANZLMI passes its risk to a panel of reinsurers rated A- or better on average, and had total assets of A$769 million at 31 March 2025. CommBank and Westpac, by contrast, both send new loans to Arch (see the Westpac LMI calculator).
ANZ LMI refunds and what the cost includes
ANZ may refund part of the premium, but does not promise to. Its LMI fact sheet (item 91602) says ANZ "may (but is not required to)" give a partial refund if the loan is repaid early: 50% of the premium if the loan is fully repaid within 12 months of the policy starting, and 25% within 24 months. If ANZ paid the full 50% on a $14,400 premium, you would get $7,200 back.
The conditions are strict:
- the policy was issued on or after 1 October 2017;
- the loan is repaid in full, not partly discharged, refinanced within ANZ or consolidated;
- the policy has ended and no claim was made; and
- the property does not secure another loan.
ANZ's clock starts when the policy starts. Westpac's refund scale is lower (40% and 20%) and runs from settlement. On cost, ANZ's fact sheet says GST is payable and stamp duty may be, and "these amounts will be included in the cost". A restructure or loan increase can bring a new LMI cost, and if LMI is no longer needed after a restructure, the existing policy may be terminated.
Which professions does ANZ waive LMI for?
ANZ's broker sheets set out three groups, with no minimum income for any of them:
- Up to 95% LVR: medical practitioners, dental practitioners and specialists, borrowing up to $4.75 million. ANZ requires general or specialist registration.
- Up to 90% LVR: optometrists, physiotherapists, chiropractors and vets, borrowing up to $4.5 million.
- Up to 90% LVR: accountants (CA ANZ, CPA and partner bodies, plus CFA Institute and FIAA members) and legal professionals, including solicitors, barristers, judges and magistrates.
Total ANZ home lending is capped at $8 million, and the professional must hold the largest or equal largest ownership share. Nurses, midwives, pharmacists, psychologists, occupational therapists and osteopaths are on ANZ's ineligible list.
ANZ's July 2026 flyer adds a postcode waiver: ANZ "may waive ANZ LMI" for eligible borrowers on "selected home loans secured by property located in particular postcodes." ANZ publishes no postcode list or LVR for it, so ask ANZ whether your area is included. Compare lenders in our LMI waiver guide, or see home loans for dentists.
ANZ Security Guarantee
ANZ's family guarantee is called the Security Guarantee. ANZ says it "could reduce your LVR to less than 80% and save you from having to pay LMI." Its own example is the $400,000 loan in the table above, where LMI would be approximately $8,000. How family guarantees compare across lenders: guarantor home loan.
Suncorp Bank: owned by ANZ, insured by QBE
Suncorp Bank's LMI fact sheet (PDF dated 1 August 2024) says its LMI products "are issued by QBE Lenders' Mortgage Insurance", so the two banks in the ANZ group use different insurers. See QBE LMI for how QBE works. Suncorp's rules differ from ANZ's too:
- Refunds: Suncorp says LMI is "generally not refundable", with a partial refund possible in some situations depending on its arrangement with its insurer.
- Paying: Suncorp's FAQ says the LMI is added to your mortgage, while its fact sheet says you can pay from your own funds or add it to the loan. Ask Suncorp which applies.
- Waiver: only for medical practitioners with general or specialist registration, on loans of $250,000 to $1,500,000 at 80.01% to 90% LVR, for owner-occupiers or investors, principal and interest. Suncorp can withdraw the offer without notice.
- Schemes: Suncorp Bank is not on the 5% Deposit Scheme lender list and is not a Help to Buy lender.
ANZ and the 5% Deposit Scheme
ANZ is a Participating Lender in the 5% Deposit Scheme and says so on its first home buyer page. An eligible buyer can purchase with a 5% deposit (2% for an eligible single parent) and pay no LMI, because the government guarantees part of the loan instead of an insurer.
One ANZ rule changes the sums. ANZ's $3,000 first home buyer cashback is not available on a loan "supported by a Government guarantee" or where an ANZ LMI waiver applies, so a scheme loan at ANZ does not get it. The LMI the scheme removes is usually much larger: typically $24,000 on a $600,000 home with a 5% deposit. ANZ is not a Help to Buy lender. Every other route is in how to avoid LMI.
ANZ LMI questions
Does ANZ use QBE or Helia for LMI?
ANZ's own documents name its subsidiary, ANZ Lenders Mortgage Insurance Pty Ltd, as the insurer of ANZ loans, not QBE or Helia. Suncorp Bank, which ANZ owns, uses QBE.
How much LMI does ANZ charge on a 10% deposit?
ANZ's broker sheets show $17,699 on an $800,000 home with an $80,000 deposit, a $720,000 loan. Your premium depends on your loan, LVR and state, and ANZ says it will tell you the cost if your loan needs LMI.
Can I add ANZ LMI to the loan?
You may be able to. ANZ's LMI fact sheet says you pay the premium at settlement or may be able to add it to the loan. In ANZ's guarantee example, adding it takes a 90% LVR to 92%.
What is the most ANZ will lend with LMI?
ANZ publishes no general maximum. Its home loans page says most home loans can fund up to 85% to 95% of the value, and its July 2026 flyer allows up to 95% with LMI, or 97% including the premium, for two dwellings on one title.
Does ANZ refund LMI if I refinance to another ANZ loan?
No. The refund needs the loan repaid in full, and a loan refinanced within ANZ, partly discharged or consolidated does not qualify.
Sources
Each source was checked on 29 September 2026.
- ANZ: lenders mortgage insurance guide
- ANZ: LMI fact sheet, item 91602 (PDF)
- ANZ: Security Guarantee
- ANZ: broker LMI waiver sheet, legal professionals (PDF)
- ANZ: broker LMI waiver sheet, accountants (PDF)
- ANZ: broker LMI waiver sheet, optometrists, physiotherapists, chiropractors and vets (PDF)
- ANZ: LMI waiver sheet, medical and dental practitioners (PDF)
- ANZ: LMI waiver fact sheet (PDF)
- ANZ: why choose ANZ flyer, July 2026 (PDF)
- ANZ: first home buyers
- ANZ: home loans
- ANZ: Kingfisher 2025-1 information memorandum, 18 August 2025 (PDF)
- APRA: register of general insurers
- Suncorp Bank: LMI fact sheet (PDF)
- Suncorp Bank: LMI FAQs
- Suncorp Bank: home loan offers
- Westpac: LMI fact sheet (PDF)
- firsthomebuyers.gov.au: 5% Deposit Scheme Participating Lenders
- 5% Deposit Scheme Information Guide, 1 July 2026 (PDF)
- firsthomebuyers.gov.au: Help to Buy Participating Lenders
- CommBank: published LMI example (form code 005-855 010226; PDF created 7 Nov 2025)
- ME Bank: published LMI example (8 Jul 2025)
- Keystart: published LMI example (not stated)
- Great Southern Bank: published LMI example (2021-07-22)
- Homestar Finance: published LMI example (not stated)
- loans.com.au: published LMI example (2025-03-06)
- Credit Union SA: published LMI example (2021-08-10)
Researched and maintained by
PhD in Financial Studies, 5 years in finance
Every figure on this page comes from a lender, insurer, government or regulator source listed above. Read our editorial policy.