Skip to content

How LMI Is Calculated: Premium Rate, Stamp Duty and GST

LMI is your loan amount multiplied by a premium rate that depends on your LVR and loan size. GST is already inside the premium, and most states and territories then charge duty on it.

This page shows the formula, a worked example, the duty in every state and territory, and exactly where our figures come from. To skip the maths, use the LMI calculator. If LMI itself is new to you, start with our lenders mortgage insurance guide.

Premium (including GST) = loan × rate for your LVR and loan size

Duty = premium × your state's duty rate

Total LMI = premium + duty

How is LMI calculated?

Work out your LVR, find the premium rate for your LVR and loan size, multiply it by the loan, then add your state's duty on the premium.

  1. Work out your loan-to-value ratio (LVR): the loan divided by the lower of the purchase price and the lender's valuation, times 100. St.George and QBE both use the lower figure. $450,000 on a $500,000 home is 90%.
  2. Check that LMI applies. It is usually charged when the LVR is above 80% (CommBank).
  3. Find the premium rate. It depends on your LVR, your loan size and your lender's insurer. No insurer publishes a complete price list, so this site uses the LMI figures lenders publish themselves.
  4. Multiply the loan by the rate. The result is the premium, and it already includes 10% GST.
  5. Add your state's duty on the premium. It ranges from nothing in NSW and the ACT to 11% in South Australia.
  6. Pay the total at settlement, or add it to the loan, which raises your LVR.

Worked example: a $500,000 home with a 10% deposit in Queensland

Here is the formula on a $500,000 home with a $50,000 deposit in Queensland, using the typical figure from lenders' published examples.

$500,000 home, $50,000 deposit, Queensland, owner-occupier. Lender figures checked 29 September 2026.
StepCalculationResult
LVR$450,000 ÷ $500,00090.0%
RateTypical rate at 90% LVR (range 1.49% to 2.64%)2.00%
Premium, including GST$450,000 × 2.00%$9,000
GST inside the premium$9,000 ÷ 11$818
Queensland duty$9,000 × 9%$810
Total LMIPremium + duty$9,810
Published rangeLowest to highest lender rate, top plus duty$6,700 to $12,900

Estimate only. General information, not credit or financial advice. Your lender and its insurer set the actual premium.

Calculate your LMI

Last step: adding LMI to the loan

Adding LMI to the loan raises your LVR, because the loan grows and the value does not. In the Queensland example, the 90.0% loan becomes about 92.0% once the $9,810 is added. QBE caps the LVR at 95% before the premium is added and 100% after it. The LVR calculator shows the before and after for your own loan.

Why does LMI rise so steeply with LVR?

The premium climbs fast as the LVR rises. In lenders' published figures the typical rate doubles from 85% to 90% LVR, and roughly doubles again from 90% to 95%.

Lender-published LMI rates, and what they mean on a $500,000 loan. Checked 29 September 2026.
LVRRange of ratesTypical rateTypical on $500,000Figures
85%0.76% to 2.06%1.00%$5,0007
90%1.49% to 2.64%2.00%$10,00013
95%2.95% to 5.26%4.20%$21,0006

So a small change in your deposit can matter. For the dollar figures at every deposit and loan size, see how much LMI costs.

Is GST charged on LMI?

Yes. LMI is general insurance, so the premium includes 10% GST, and it is quoted with GST included.

The ATO says GST is charged on insurance policies other than life insurance, which is input taxed, and health insurance, which is GST-free. QBE quotes its minimum premium of $1,150 including GST. GST is one eleventh of a GST-inclusive premium, so $818 of the $9,000 premium in the example above. State duty is then charged on the premium including GST: Queensland says GST is considered part of the premium.

Is there stamp duty on LMI?

Yes, in six of the eight states and territories. Queensland charges 9% of the premium, South Australia 11%, and Victoria, Western Australia, Tasmania and the Northern Territory 10%. NSW and the ACT charge nothing. To add the transfer duty on the home as well, use the stamp duty and LMI calculator.

Duty on the LMI premium, checked 28 September 2026
State or territoryDutyBasisOn the example premium
New South WalesNoneLMI over NSW property is exempt for premiums paid on or after 1 July 2017$0
Victoria10%General insurance rate; the state does not name LMI separately$900
Queensland9%General insurance rate, charged on the premium including GST$810
Western Australia10%General insurance rate$900
South Australia11%General insurance rate; mortgage insurance is not on the exemption list$990
Tasmania10%General insurance rate$900
Australian Capital TerritoryNoneInsurance duty abolished on 1 July 2016$0
Northern Territory10%General insurance rate; the state does not name LMI separately$900

Duty follows the state the property is in. Where a state's page does not name LMI, we apply its general insurance rate. Westpac and St.George say duty is not refunded if part of the premium is.

Tasmania's 2% "mortgage insurance" rate is not LMI

The 2% "mortgage insurance" rate on Tasmania's duty page is for borrower life cover, not LMI. Tasmania's Duties Act 2001 (section 172) defines a policy of mortgage insurance as a temporary policy of life insurance taken out by a borrower that pays out on the borrower's death. LMI therefore falls under Tasmania's 10% general insurance duty, which is our reading of the Act.

Where do our figures come from?

Every LMI estimate on this site is built from 27 LMI figures that 8 Australian lenders publish themselves, checked 29 September 2026.

  • What counts: an exact dollar LMI figure, published by a lender, for a stated loan and LVR. Figures written as "over", "up to" or "save" an amount are left out, and so are figures dated before 2021.
  • What is left out and why: government figures, because several were worked out with an insurer's online estimator rather than published by a lender; ubank's example, because it credits a comparison site's calculator; HomeStart's Loan Provision Charge, because it is a lender fee rather than LMI; and duplicates, counted once.
  • How the range is built: each figure is turned into a rate (LMI divided by the loan). At 85%, 90% and 95% LVR we take the lowest, middle and highest rate within half a point. Between those points, the rate is worked out in proportion.
  • Duty: lenders do not say whether their examples include duty, so the low and typical figures are shown as published and the top of the range adds your state's duty.
  • GST: not added, because LMI premiums already include it.
The published spread at each LVR point, checked 29 September 2026
LVRLowest rateTypical rateHighest rateFigures
85%0.76%1.00%2.06%7
90%1.49%2.00%2.64%13
95%2.95%4.20%5.26%6

What the range cannot tell you

  • No lender publishes a figure between 80% and 85% LVR, so the calculator shows only an upper figure there.
  • No lender publishes an example for an investment loan, so investment loans use the owner-occupier range.
  • The published loans run from $170,000 to $900,000. Outside that, the result is flagged as a rougher guide.
  • 7 of the 27 figures are first home buyer examples. They are pooled with the rest, because lenders do not publish matched pairs.
  • Several figures date from 2021, and LMI pricing moves. We re-check the sources and add new lender figures as they appear.

All 27 lender figures we use

Every figure behind the range, with a link to where the lender publishes it.

Lender-published LMI figures, sorted by LVR then loan. All checked 29 September 2026.
LenderLoanLVRLMIRateFirst home buyerSource date
loans.com.au$170,00085%$1,2990.76%Not stated6 March 2025
loans.com.au$340,00085%$3,3901.00%Not stated6 March 2025
Credit Union SA$340,00085%$7,0002.06%Not stated10 August 2021
Homestar Finance$425,00085%$6,8101.60%Not statedNot stated
loans.com.au$510,00085%$5,1001.00%Not stated6 March 2025
ME Bank$680,00085%$6,8001.00%Not stated8 Jul 2025
loans.com.au$850,00085%$11,1351.31%Not stated6 March 2025
Keystart$360,00088%$5,1481.43%Not statedNot stated
loans.com.au$180,00090%$2,6841.49%Not stated6 March 2025
loans.com.au$360,00090%$6,9441.93%Not stated6 March 2025
Credit Union SA$360,00090%$6,9431.93%Yes10 August 2021
ANZ$400,00090%$8,0002.00%Not statedPage modified 1 May 2025
CommBank$450,00090%$9,0002.00%Not statedPDF created 7 Nov 2025
Homestar Finance$450,00090%$11,8652.64%Not statedNot stated
loans.com.au$540,00090%$10,8002.00%Not stated6 March 2025
Credit Union SA$540,00090%$13,2842.46%Yes10 August 2021
ANZ$720,00090%$17,6992.46%Not statedApril 2024 (document code)
ME Bank$720,00090%$14,0001.94%Not stated8 Jul 2025
loans.com.au$720,00090%$14,4002.00%Not stated6 March 2025
Credit Union SA$720,00090%$17,7122.46%Yes10 August 2021
loans.com.au$900,00090%$22,3922.49%Not stated6 March 2025
Credit Union SA$380,00095%$11,8973.13%Yes10 August 2021
Great Southern Bank$475,00095%$14,0002.95%Yes22 July 2021
Credit Union SA$570,00095%$23,9544.20%Yes10 August 2021
ANZ$760,00095%$36,1874.76%Not statedAugust 2024 (document code)
ME Bank$760,00095%$40,0005.26%Not stated8 Jul 2025
Credit Union SA$760,00095%$31,9394.20%Yes10 August 2021

LVR is rounded to the nearest whole point; the Keystart example is 87.8%. Rate is the LMI divided by the loan. Where a lender published the same figure as another, it is counted once.

Why do LMI figures differ?

Why do insurers' and lenders' premiums differ?

Each lender uses its own LMI insurer, or carries the risk itself, and each insurer sets its own rates. None publishes a complete price list.

InsurerKnown lenders, as at 29 September 2026
ArchCommBank (new business from early 2026) and the Westpac group
HeliaING, reappointed from 1 July 2026, and other lenders
QBEBank Australia, and others
Lender itselfSome lenders carry the risk or charge their own fee instead

The spread shows up in the figures: on the same $720,000 loan at 90% LVR, published lender figures run from $14,000 to $17,712.

Why do online LMI calculators give different answers?

Online calculators do not all use the same source, and not all of them say what they include, such as GST or state duty. So the same loan can show different figures on different sites. This site names the source of every figure behind its range and says what is included.

Corrections and update log

We re-check the figures when a lender changes its published examples, a revenue office changes its duty, or the 5% Deposit Scheme caps change. Every change is dated here. To report an error, use the Contact page.

DateWhat changedPages affected
28 September 2026Duty on the LMI premium checked for all eight states and territories. 5% Deposit Scheme price caps checked.All calculators and guides
29 September 2026Estimates rebuilt as ranges from 27 LMI figures published by 8 lenders, each checked at its source.All calculators and guides

Sources

Researched and maintained by

Andrew Wortman
Andrew Wortman

PhD in Financial Studies, 5 years in finance

Every figure on this page comes from a lender, insurer, government or regulator source listed above. Read our editorial policy.

Published: