Home Loans for Accountants and Actuaries: LMI Waivers by Lender
In short
- Up to 90% LVR without LMI at the Westpac group, ANZ, CommBank, BOQ Specialist and Auswide Bank, as published on 29 September 2026.
- ANZ sets no minimum income. The Westpac group asks for $120,000 gross taxable income a year.
- CA ANZ and CPA Australia are accepted everywhere a body is named. The IPA is named by the Westpac group and NAB.
- Actuaries and CFA charterholders can use the accountant waiver at the Westpac group, NAB and ANZ.
Which lenders waive LMI?
These lenders name accountants on their own waiver pages or broker documents. The Westpac group row covers Westpac, St.George, Bank of Melbourne and BankSA. The Westpac group, ANZ and NAB also name lawyers: see home loans for lawyers.
| Lender | Status | Max LVR | Conditions | Investment loans |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CommBank | Waiver (ask to confirm) | 90% (a deposit of as little as 10%) | Speak to a Home Lending Specialist; membership and income rules not published | Not stated |
| Westpac group | Waiver | 90% | $120,000 minimum gross taxable income; current IPA, CA ANZ or CPA Australia membership | Yes at St.George, Bank of Melbourne and BankSA; not stated by Westpac |
| NAB | Waiver | Not published | Current CA ANZ, CPA Australia or IPA membership | Depends on loan type |
| ANZ | Waiver | 90% | No minimum income; current CA ANZ or CPA Australia membership, including partnering bodies and listed overseas institutes; borrow up to $4.5 million | Yes, principal and interest |
| BOQ Specialist | Waiver | Up to 90% | Accountants are a named client group; criteria not published | Yes |
| Auswide Bank | Waiver | 90% | No minimum income stated | Yes |
Lenders' own published policies, checked 29 September 2026. A policy is not an approval: each lender assesses your application and can change or withdraw an offer.
How much LMI does a waiver save?
A waiver removes the whole premium. At 90% LVR, published lender figures put the LMI you would otherwise pay at about:
| Home price | Loan at 90% | Typical LMI | Published range |
|---|---|---|---|
| $600,000 | $540,000 | $10,800 | $8,100 to $14,200 |
| $800,000 | $720,000 | $14,400 | $10,700 to $19,000 |
| $1,000,000 | $900,000 | $18,000 | $13,400 to $23,700 |
NSW, where there is no duty on LMI. Other states add 9% to 11% to the premium. Built from LMI figures Australian lenders publish.
Estimate the LMI for your own loanWhich accounting bodies do lenders accept?
Your membership is what makes you eligible, so check that your body is on the lender's list before you apply. Where a lender publishes its list, this is what it names:
| Body | Westpac group | NAB | ANZ |
|---|---|---|---|
| CA ANZ | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| CPA Australia | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Institute of Public Accountants | Yes | Yes | Not named |
| Global Accounting Alliance and listed overseas institutes | Not named | Not named | Yes |
CommBank, BOQ Specialist and Auswide Bank do not publish which bodies they accept.
Actuaries and CFA charterholders
Three lender groups extend the accountant waiver to actuaries and financial analysts:
- ANZ names CFA Institute members and Fellows of the Institute of Actuaries of Australia on its accountant sheet: up to 90%, no minimum income, loans of $4.5 million or less.
- NAB names Fellows of the Institute of Actuaries of Australia and CFA Institute members, without publishing an LVR.
- The Westpac group lists CFA Institute Australia membership and the actuaries' fellowship inside its accountant footnote, with the same $120,000 income rule. The wording ties them to being a qualified accountant, so confirm with the lender before you count on it.
Do accountants need a minimum income?
Only at the Westpac group, which asks for at least $120,000 gross taxable income a year. ANZ says no minimum income is required. CommBank, NAB, BOQ Specialist and Auswide Bank do not publish an income rule. A graduate accountant earning less than $120,000 has more options at ANZ than at Westpac, as long as their membership is current.
How lenders assess an accountant's income
Salaried accountants prove income with payslips. Bonuses count as non-base income at Westpac, which asks for a year-to-date payslip covering at least 3 months, or a payslip plus a year-to-date income statement. Partners, principals and anyone paid through their own company or trust are self-employed, and lenders ask for more (lender pages read 29 September 2026):
- A regular wage from your own company: ANZ has a streamlined check for directors and shareholders who have paid themselves a regular wage for at least 6 months: one payslip dated within 60 days, your latest ATO income statement and an ABN or ACN registered for 18 months. CommBank's simpler check asks for six months of salary credits and two years of profit and loss records showing a profit each year.
- Partnership, trust or company profits: ANZ asks for your individual tax return and notice of assessment, plus the company or partnership return if you own 25% or more. Director's fees or dividends need an ABN or ACN that has been valid for two years. If you do not fit its simpler check, CommBank asks for two years of personal tax returns, the latest business return and two years of profit and loss.
- How recent the returns must be: ANZ accepts tax statements up to 22.5 months old, with a 15 May cut-off each year. NAB accepts a single year's financials only at 80% LVR or less.
Westpac says your business should have traded for at least 2 full financial years under all its self-employed methods, though it may still help if it has not. Its two-year Fast Track, which needs only your notices of assessment, asks for a 20% deposit.
What if you are not eligible?
Bookkeepers and tax staff without CA ANZ, CPA Australia or IPA membership fall outside these lists. First home buyers can still use the 5% Deposit Scheme to buy with 5% and no LMI, below the price cap for the area.
ubank charges no LMI up to 90% for anyone buying with principal and interest repayments, to live in or to invest. If family can help, BOQ takes 15% off the LMI when a family member pays it at settlement.
Compare every route in how to avoid LMI, or see all professions in LMI waiver rules.
Frequently asked questions
Which banks waive LMI for accountants?
As at 29 September 2026, CommBank, the Westpac group (Westpac, St.George, Bank of Melbourne and BankSA), NAB, ANZ, BOQ Specialist and Auswide Bank publish LMI waivers for accountants. Where a maximum is published, it is 90% of the property value.
Is IPA membership enough for an LMI waiver?
At the Westpac group and NAB, yes: both list the Institute of Public Accountants alongside CA ANZ and CPA Australia. ANZ's accountant sheet names CA ANZ, CPA Australia and their partnering bodies, but not the IPA by name, so check with ANZ.
Can actuaries and CFA charterholders get an LMI waiver?
Yes, at three lender groups. The Westpac group, NAB and ANZ all name Fellows of the Institute of Actuaries of Australia and CFA Institute members. ANZ allows up to 90% with no minimum income, and the Westpac group asks for $120,000.
Can I get an accountant LMI waiver on an investment loan?
ANZ says yes, on an owner-occupier or investor loan repaying principal and interest. St.George, Bank of Melbourne and BankSA say their waiver applies whether you buy to live in or invest, and Auswide Bank and BOQ Specialist include investment purchases. Westpac and NAB do not say for accountants.
Does CommBank waive LMI for accountants?
CommBank asks doctors, lawyers and accountants to speak to a Home Lending Specialist to check whether their profession is eligible for a waiver with a deposit of as little as 10%. It does not publish the income or membership rules.
Sources
Each source was checked on 29 September 2026.
- CommBank: low deposit home loan options
- Westpac: saving a home loan deposit (accounting and legal waiver)
- St.George: property investor (accounting and legal waiver footnote)
- NAB: LMI waiver
- ANZ: LMI waiver for accountants (broker sheet, PDF)
- BOQ Specialist: banking package
- Auswide Bank: finance for professionals
- ubank: home loans with no LMI
- BOQ: lenders mortgage insurance (Family Assistance LMI Discount)
- 5% Deposit Scheme property price caps
- ANZ: home loans for business owners
- CommBank: home loans for self-employed and business owners
- Westpac: home loans for the self-employed
- Westpac: broker minimum required documents checklist (PDF)
- NAB: self-employed home loans
Researched and maintained by
PhD in Financial Studies, 5 years in finance
Every figure on this page comes from a lender, insurer, government or regulator source listed above. Read our editorial policy.