Westpac LMI Calculator (Independent Estimate)
Independent estimate, not Westpac's figure. LMI Calculator Australia is not affiliated with or endorsed by Westpac Banking Corporation, St.George, Bank of Melbourne or BankSA. The range is built from LMI figures Australian lenders publish; Westpac's own figures are approximate, so none of them is part of it. Only Westpac and its insurer, Arch, set the premium on your loan.
Free · No sign-up · Checked 29 September 2026
Your result
You may not need to pay LMI. The 5% Deposit Scheme lets eligible buyers purchase with a 5% deposit and no LMI, up to $1,500,000 in this area. The estimate below is what you would pay without it.
- Loan
- $630,000
- LVR
- 90.0%
Likely LMI
$9,400 to $16,600
Typical lender figure: $12,600
- Duty on LMI in New South Wales: none. Exempt for premiums paid on or after 1 July 2017.
- LVR after adding LMI to the loan: 91.3% to 92.4%.
- To avoid LMI: add $70,000 to your deposit to reach 20%. Try the home deposit calculator.
Closest published lender figures
Range built from 27 LMI figures published by 8 Australian lenders, checked 29 September 2026. How this is calculated.
Estimate only. General information, not credit or financial advice. Your lender and its insurer set the actual LMI premium.
To get Westpac's own figure, use its stamp duty and LMI calculator (westpac.com.au), which Westpac says estimates the stamp duty and LMI you might need to pay, or read its LMI page (westpac.com.au). St.George, Bank of Melbourne and BankSA borrowers should ask their own brand.
The same range, for any lender and state, is on our LMI calculator.
In short
- Westpac's deposit page says the mortgage insurance would be almost $20,000 on a $540,000 loan at 90% LVR, above the top of our range for that loan.
- Arch has insured Westpac group loans since 31 August 2021, under a 10-year exclusive agreement.
- All four brands add 0.30% p.a. to the interest rate on new loans above 80% LVR, on top of LMI.
- Westpac refunds 40% of the premium within 12 months of settlement and 20% from 12 to 24 months, but never the stamp duty.
- Westpac, St.George, Bank of Melbourne and BankSA share one waiver policy: 95% LVR for doctors and dentists, 90% for 15 health roles, accountants and lawyers.
How much is LMI on a Westpac loan?
| Home price | LVR | Loan | Typical LMI | NSW range, no duty | SA range, top incl 11% duty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| $600,000 | 90% | $540,000 | $10,800 | $8,100 to $14,200 | $8,100 to $15,800 |
| $600,000 | 95% | $570,000 | $24,000 | $16,800 to $30,000 | $16,800 to $33,300 |
| $1,000,000 | 90% | $900,000 | $18,000 | $13,400 to $23,700 | $13,400 to $26,300 |
| $1,000,000 | 95% | $950,000 (rougher guide) | $39,900 | $28,000 to $50,000 | $28,000 to $55,500 |
Rows marked rougher guide are larger than the biggest loan lenders publish an LMI example for.
The Westpac group's own LMI figures
| Source | Scenario | Published LMI | Our NSW range | Where it sits | Document date | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Westpac: saving a home loan deposit | $600,000 home, $60,000 deposit, $540,000 loan (90% LVR) | Almost $20,000 | $8,100 to $14,200 | Above our range | Modified 1 Sep 2026 | 29 September 2026 |
| St.George, Bank of Melbourne and BankSA: Family Pledge | $300,000 price, $285,000 loan (95% LVR) | Saving up to $5,800 | $8,400 to $15,000 | Below our range | Modified 16 Mar 2026 | 29 September 2026 |
Which insurer does Westpac use for LMI?
Arch insures Westpac group home loans. Westpac sold its own insurer, Westpac Lenders Mortgage Insurance (WLMI), to Arch. The sale was announced on 18 March 2021 and completed on 31 August 2021, with a 10-year exclusive agreement "for Arch to provide Lenders Mortgage Insurance (LMI) to the Group". Arch had reinsured WLMI since 2011, and the insurer now operates as Arch Lenders Mortgage Indemnity. What LMI is, and why it protects the bank rather than you, is in our lenders mortgage insurance guide.
Westpac's LMI page calls it only "the LMI provider" and says "Westpac does not receive a commission from the LMI provider." Fitch's note of 10 September 2026 still describes Arch's "historically high reliance on Westpac Banking Corporation". The same insurer took on new CommBank loans in 2026, covered on our CBA LMI calculator page.
St.George, Bank of Melbourne and BankSA
All three are divisions of Westpac Banking Corporation. None of their sites names Arch, but the 2021 agreement covers "the Group", so they use Arch through the group agreement. Where we could check, their LMI rules match Westpac's.
| Brand | LMI insurer | Rate margin above 80% LVR | LMI refund terms | 5% Deposit Scheme |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Westpac | Arch, named in Westpac's 2021 releases | 0.30% p.a. | 40% within 12 months, 20% from 12 to 24 months | Participating Lender |
| St.George | Arch, through the group agreement | 0.30% p.a. | Same terms, in its own fact sheet | Participating Lender |
| Bank of Melbourne | Arch, through the group agreement | 0.30% p.a. | No fact sheet found: ask Bank of Melbourne | Participating Lender |
| BankSA | Arch, through the group agreement | 0.30% p.a. | No fact sheet found: ask BankSA | Participating Lender |
St.George adds three points of its own. It uses "the lesser of either the assessed value or purchase price" to work out LVR, it says investors "may pay a higher LMI premium", and it states that "LMI premiums are not transferrable" if you refinance to another bank.
The 0.30% rate margin above 80% LVR
Above 80% LVR, the Westpac group charges more interest as well as LMI. Westpac's rates page says "There will be an additional 0.30% p.a. on top of our standard interest rate if you're borrowing over 80% of Westpac's property valuation", and that it "applies to all new loans". St.George, Bank of Melbourne and BankSA print the same 0.30% in their rate tables.
The rate is set on your LVR when the loan starts, and Westpac says it does not change "as your LVR/equity changes over the life of your loan". On a $540,000 loan, 0.30% p.a. is about $1,620 of extra interest in the first year (our arithmetic on the starting balance). Westpac does not say whether the margin applies when LMI is waived, so ask before you rely on it.
Can you get part of Westpac LMI back?
Yes, if you repay within two years. Westpac's LMI fact sheet, and St.George's in the same words, refund 40% of the premium if all insured loans are repaid and discharged within 12 months of settlement, and 20% from 12 to 24 months. The loans must never have been in arrears, the refund must clear a minimum threshold that Westpac does not publish, and stamp duty on the premium is never refunded. If the premium on a $540,000 loan were our typical $10,800, repaying within 12 months would return about $4,320.
LMI can also apply again. Westpac says you "may also be asked to pay for LMI if you're refinancing, restructuring a home loan, or topping one up, where the limit of the loan is greater than 80% of the value of the security." If you move house, Westpac lets you swap the security for a property of equal or greater value, and St.George limits a temporary term deposit security to 3 months when the loan has LMI.
Which professions does Westpac waive LMI for?
Westpac, St.George, Bank of Melbourne and BankSA publish the same lists:
- Up to 95% LVR, no minimum income: dentists, GPs, hospital-employed doctors (interns, residents, registrars and staff specialists) and medical specialists. Westpac's broker policy caps the loan at $5 million, or $7.5 million of total lending with the waiver.
- Up to 90% LVR, at least $90,000 a year: audiologists, chiropractors, midwives, occupational therapists, optometrists, osteopaths, pharmacists, physiotherapists, podiatrists, psychologists, radiographers, registered nurses, sonographers, speech pathologists and veterinary practitioners. Casual income is counted over 52 weeks.
- Up to 90% LVR, at least $120,000: accountants with IPA, CA ANZ or CPA membership (CFA Institute Australia and FIAA members are also listed), and lawyers, solicitors and barristers with a practising certificate dated within the last 12 months.
Westpac introduces the lists as "healthcare & emergency service professionals", but no police, paramedic or firefighter role is on them. Compare lenders in our LMI waiver guide, or see home loans for nurses.
Family Security Guarantee and Family Pledge
Westpac's Family Security Guarantee lets a parent, legal guardian, sibling or child over 18 use equity in their home, or cash in a term deposit, to guarantee up to 50% of your loan. Westpac says this can take your LVR under 80%, "which means you won't need to pay Lenders Mortgage Insurance". St.George, Bank of Melbourne and BankSA call theirs Family Pledge. Unlike CBA, Westpac describes a guarantor as an alternative to LMI "(or in addition to it)". More on how these work: guarantor home loan.
Westpac and the 5% Deposit Scheme
Westpac, St George Bank, Bank of Melbourne and BankSA are all Participating Lenders in the 5% Deposit Scheme as at 29 September 2026. Without the scheme, Westpac says that "if you pay Lenders Mortgage Insurance (LMI), you might only need a 5% deposit". With it, an eligible first home buyer can buy with 5% (2% for an eligible single parent) and pay no LMI, because the government guarantees part of the loan. On a $600,000 home that avoids a typical $24,000 of LMI at 95%, or up to $33,300 in SA once duty is added.
The scheme sets the guarantee, not the interest rate: the rate and fees are agreed with the lender, so ask whether the 0.30% margin applies to a scheme loan. None of the four brands is a Help to Buy lender. Every other route is in how to avoid LMI.
Westpac LMI questions
Does St.George use the same LMI insurer as Westpac?
Yes, through the Westpac Group agreement. Westpac's 2021 supply agreement with Arch covers the group, and St.George is a division of Westpac Banking Corporation, although St.George's own pages do not name Arch.
Can you pay Westpac LMI upfront?
Yes. Westpac says LMI can be included in your upfront costs and paid immediately, or added to your loan. Adding it raises the loan and the LVR.
Does Westpac have a Low Deposit Premium like CommBank?
No. We found no Low Deposit Premium at Westpac, St.George, Bank of Melbourne or BankSA. It is a CommBank fee, and the Westpac group brands charge LMI.
How does Westpac work out the cost of LMI?
Westpac says the cost is based on the size of the loan and its percentage of the security value. St.George uses the lesser of its assessed value or the purchase price when it works out the LVR.
Is this Westpac's LMI calculator?
No. It is an independent estimate built from LMI figures Australian lenders publish, and the site is not affiliated with Westpac. Westpac runs its own stamp duty and LMI calculator on westpac.com.au, and only Westpac and Arch set your premium.
Sources
Each source was checked on 29 September 2026.
- Westpac: Lenders Mortgage Insurance page
- Westpac: LMI fact sheet (PDF)
- Westpac: stamp duty and LMI calculator
- Westpac: all home loan interest rates
- Westpac: saving a home loan deposit
- Westpac: first home buyers
- Westpac: loan to value ratio (LVR)
- Westpac: Family Security Guarantee
- Westpac: healthcare LMI waiver
- Westpac: broker policy
- Westpac: home loan portability
- Westpac: media release, 18 March 2021 (sale of WLMI to Arch)
- Westpac: media release, 31 August 2021 (sale completed)
- St.George: LMI fact sheet (PDF)
- St.George: LMI for first home buyers
- St.George: Family Pledge
- St.George: home loan portability
- St.George: home loan interest rates
- Bank of Melbourne: home loan interest rates
- BankSA: home loan interest rates
- St.George: profession home loans
- Bank of Melbourne: profession home loans
- BankSA: profession home loans
- Arch: about Arch LMI in Australia
- Fitch Ratings: Arch Lenders Mortgage Indemnity rating affirmed, 10 September 2026
- firsthomebuyers.gov.au: 5% Deposit Scheme Participating Lenders
- 5% Deposit Scheme Information Guide, 1 July 2026 (PDF)
- firsthomebuyers.gov.au: Help to Buy Participating Lenders
- CommBank: published LMI example (form code 005-855 010226; PDF created 7 Nov 2025)
- ANZ: published LMI example (Item No. 97349D 04.2024)
- ANZ: published LMI example (Item No. 97349A 08.2024)
- ME Bank: published LMI example (8 Jul 2025)
- ANZ: published LMI example (modified 1 May 2025)
- Keystart: published LMI example (not stated)
- Great Southern Bank: published LMI example (2021-07-22)
- Homestar Finance: published LMI example (not stated)
- loans.com.au: published LMI example (2025-03-06)
- Credit Union SA: published LMI example (2021-08-10)
Researched and maintained by
PhD in Financial Studies, 5 years in finance
Every figure on this page comes from a lender, insurer, government or regulator source listed above. Read our editorial policy.