Guarantor Home Loans: Avoid LMI With a Family Guarantee
General information, not credit or financial advice. If you are the guarantor, get your own independent legal advice before you sign.
Your loan-to-value ratio (LVR) is your loan divided by the lower of the price and the lender's valuation. Above 80%, lenders usually charge lenders mortgage insurance (LMI). A guarantee is one of the ways in how to avoid LMI; to price the LMI itself, use the LMI calculator.
In short
- The guarantor backs part of your loan with home equity, or cash at Westpac and CommBank. No money goes to you.
- Lenders size the guarantee two ways: $105,000 or $131,250 on a $700,000 home with a 5% deposit.
- The guarantor is liable up to the guaranteed amount, and their home can be sold to cover it.
- Most lenders release the guarantee, when you apply, once your loan is 80% of the value or less.
How much guarantee do you need?
Enough to bring your LVR to 80% on the lender's own measure, and lenders measure it two ways.
Your result
- Loan
- $665,000
- LVR without a guarantee
- 95.0%
Method 1
Gap to 80% of the value
In examples from NAB, ANZ, CommBank, BOQ and Bankwest.
Guarantee needed
$105,000
LVR the lender works from: 80.0%
Method 2
Combined security
In examples from Westpac, St.George, Bank of Melbourne and BankSA.
Guarantee needed
$131,250
LVR the lender works from: 80.0%
LMI the guarantee avoids
$19,600 to $35,000
Typical lender figure: $27,900
An estimate built from figures lenders publish, not a quote.
Release point: most lenders release the guarantor once your loan is 80% of the value or less, here a balance of $560,000.
LMI range from 27 figures published by 8 lenders, checked 29 September 2026. How LMI is calculated.
Estimate only. General information, not credit or financial advice. The lender sets the guarantee amount.
First home buyer? The 5% Deposit Scheme removes LMI with a 5% deposit (2% for single parents), with no one else's home at stake. Check it before you ask family.
Why do lenders ask for different amounts?
Lenders publish two ways of measuring the LVR with a guarantee, and the second always needs a guarantee 25% larger.
Method 1: the gap to 80% of the value
The guarantee covers the loan above 80% of the value. In NAB's example, a $90,000 guarantee on a $600,000 home with a $30,000 deposit gives "an effective loan to value ratio (LVR) of 80%". ANZ, CommBank and BOQ examples work the same way.
Method 2: combined security
Westpac and the St.George group divide the loan by the property value plus the guarantee: "$270,000 ÷ ($300,000 + $40,000) x 100 = 79%". APRA's APS 112 likewise has banks use the combined value when several properties secure one loan. Solve that formula for 80% and the guarantee is 25% larger than under method 1 (our arithmetic). St.George's Family Pledge example uses $56,500 where method 1 gives $45,000.
| Your deposit | Loan and LVR | Method 1 | Method 2 | LMI avoided |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| None | $700,000 at 100.0% | $140,000 | $175,000 | No published figure above 95% |
| 5% | $665,000 at 95.0% | $105,000 | $131,250 | $19,600 to $35,000 |
| 10% | $630,000 at 90.0% | $70,000 | $87,500 | $9,400 to $16,600 |
| 15% | $595,000 at 85.0% | $35,000 | $43,750 | $4,500 to $12,300 |
With no deposit there is no LMI figure to avoid: the guarantee is what makes the loan possible. The lender makes the final call, and Westpac says the amount "depends on a number of factors". CommBank says LMI is generally not available with a guarantor, so plan on the guarantee covering the whole gap.
How does a guarantor home loan work?
The guarantor lets the lender take extra security, usually a mortgage over their home, for part of your loan. You borrow and repay the whole loan yourself. Westpac says guarantors "won't need to give any funds directly to the borrower". Bankwest, BOQ and CommBank split the borrowing into a loan of about 80% of the value and a smaller loan the guarantee secures.
- Security guarantee. The guarantor's home becomes extra security, the usual kind; NAB says the guarantor "doesn't provide any cash payments". If they still have a mortgage, their own lender may have to consent to a second mortgage, as Macquarie's broker help describes.
- Cash guarantee. Westpac takes cash in a Westpac term deposit, up to 20% of the guaranteed loan value, and "the guarantee must be released prior to accessing any of the principal deposit amount". CommBank also accepts cash. The home stays out of it, but the money is locked until release.
Which lenders offer guarantor loans?
Most big banks, under different names and rules. Macquarie accepts only a spouse as guarantor, and we found no family guarantee product at Suncorp Bank or Bendigo Bank. Every lender that lists who can guarantee takes a parent and a sibling. None lists a friend.
| Lender and product | Who can guarantee | Security | Release | Catch |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Westpac: Family Security Guarantee | Parent, legal guardian, sibling, child over 18 | Home equity, or cash in a Westpac term deposit (up to 20% of the guaranteed loan value) | On request, usually once repayments are satisfactory and LMI is no longer needed | Up to 50% of the loan value; advice mandatory, with proof |
| St.George, Bank of Melbourne, BankSA: Family Pledge | Parents, siblings, sons, daughters | Home equity only | On request, if not in default and LMI would not be needed on the balance | No single guarantee over 50% of the guarantor's security |
| CommBank: Guarantor Support | Parent or legal guardian, adult child, sibling, grandparent | Property or cash | When no longer required, such as once the guaranteed amount is paid off | LMI generally not available with a guarantor; statutory declaration |
| Bankwest: Family Guarantee | Parent, adult child, sibling, grandparent, spouse or de facto, legal guardian | Part of the guarantor's home equity | Apply once the smaller loan (usually 20%) is paid off | Guarantor's home loan must be with Bankwest; no off the plan purchases |
| ANZ: ANZ Security Guarantee | Generally family, like parents | Home equity | Apply once your equity reaches 20% | 3 days to review, waivable with legal advice |
| NAB: no product name | Not stated | Home equity, no cash | Internal refinance or formal review, often at 80% LVR | Usually covers the gap to a 20% deposit |
| BOQ: Family Guarantee | Parent or sibling of a first home buyer | A mortgage-free home | When the loan drops below 80% LVR | Owner-occupied, principal and interest only |
| Heritage Bank: Family Guarantee | Parents, siblings, sons, daughters | Home equity | When the guaranteed amount is paid, or on request | One family guarantee borrowing per applicant |
| Great Southern Bank: Family Guarantor policy | Eligible family members (not listed) | Home equity | Not stated | Up to 20% of your mortgage, plus some costs (up to 7% of the value) |
| ING: no product name | Not stated | Home equity, subject to assessment | Not published | Apply by phone through a Mortgage Specialist |
| Macquarie | A spouse only | Not offered | Not offered | Credit guidelines accept a guarantor only in a spousal relationship |
| Suncorp Bank | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | $200 fee per guarantor; no family guarantee product found |
| Bendigo Bank | Not offered | Not offered | Not offered | Its Family Home Guarantee page is the government scheme |
The hard catches
- Bankwest: if the guarantor's home loan is with another lender, "they'll need to move their loan to us."
- BOQ: first home buyers only, a guarantor with a mortgage-free home and an income, and you must repay without their income.
- Westpac: a cash guarantee is locked until release, a guarantee cannot be added to an existing loan, and an investment purchase needs you to own no other property.
What are the risks for the guarantor?
If you are the parent reading this on your own, this part is for you, in the banks' and Moneysmart's own words. You promise to pay the guaranteed amount if the borrower cannot, and your home stands behind that promise.
- You can be asked to pay. Moneysmart: "A guarantor agrees to repay the loan if the borrower can't. You may have to repay all of it."
- Your home can be sold. Westpac: "If you choose to use your home's equity as security and don't have cash to pay Westpac upfront if asked, your house may be sold to cover it."
- A cap helps, but it is not a shield. Moneysmart: "This may limit what you owe, but you could still lose an asset you use as security." NAB says the maximum can be "a set amount or all amounts owing under the loan you're guaranteeing, plus interest, costs and other amounts", so check which yours is.
- Your borrowing and credit. Westpac: "your own ability to borrow may be reduced". ANZ: "being a guarantor can impact your credit score".
If the borrower stops paying
CommBank will "first seek to recover the debt from the borrower", through the sale of their property, before turning to your security, unless it expects a substantial amount would still be owing. Westpac calls action against the guarantor "a last resort". In CommBank's example, a home sold for $415,000 with $452,000 owing and $10,000 in sale costs leaves the guarantor $47,000 to pay.
Before you sign
- Westpac's statement to guarantors: "Your guarantee is not enforceable unless you get a copy of the credit contract or proposed credit contract before you sign." You can withdraw in writing if the final contract is materially different.
- NAB and ANZ give you at least three days with the documents, unless you get independent legal advice sooner.
- Moneysmart: "If someone pressures you to go guarantor on a loan, this may be a sign of financial abuse."
- Moneysmart: "Ask the lender to confirm the exact amount, when it may reduce, and when it can end."
How do you release a guarantor?
You apply once your loan falls to about 80% of the property's value: a balance of $560,000 on a $700,000 home. Repayments, extra payments and a rise in value all count, but a rise counts only once the lender re-values. Under APS 112 a bank keeps the value from when your loan started unless, for example, it gets an updated valuation in a new loan application. NAB describes release as an internal refinance or formal review. Heritage lets either party request a re-valuation, for a fee.
Legal advice for the guarantor
Every lender that addresses it requires or recommends independent legal advice. Westpac makes legal and financial advice mandatory, with proof. CommBank requires legal advice and a statutory declaration. St.George, BOQ and Macquarie require it, and Suncorp Bank says it "cannot be provided by the borrower's solicitor". ANZ strongly recommends it.
Guarantor loan, 5% Deposit Scheme or Help to Buy?
All three remove LMI. The difference is who carries the gap: a relative's home, a government guarantee, or a government equity share.
| Family guarantee | 5% Deposit Scheme | Help to Buy | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Minimum deposit | Nil at lenders that lend 100% | 5%, or 2% for single parents | 2% |
| Who covers the gap | The guarantor's equity or cash | A government guarantee | A government equity share, up to 30% (existing home) or 40% (new) |
| Who can use it | Set by each lender | First home buyers, and single parents | Citizens who own no property, income up to $103,000 single or $165,000 for couples and single parents |
| Price cap, Sydney | None | $1,500,000 | $1,300,000 |
| Investment property | At some lenders | No | No |
| Later cost | The guarantor's risk until release | None from the scheme | You repay the government's share of the home's value |
The two government schemes cannot be used together. See the 5% Deposit Scheme and the Help to Buy scheme for the full rules.
The Family Home Guarantee is not a family guarantee
It is the legal name, in the Housing Australia Investment Mandate, of the 5% Deposit Scheme's single parent stream: see Family Home Guarantee. It lets eligible single parents and legal guardians buy with a 2% deposit and no LMI, and no relative's property is involved. Bendigo Bank's old family home guarantee address now opens its 5% Deposit Scheme page for single parents.
Common questions about guarantor home loans
Can you get a guarantor home loan with no deposit?
Yes, at several lenders. Westpac and St.George lend up to 100% of the price plus costs such as stamp duty with a guarantee, Bankwest up to 100% plus fees, and ANZ generally up to 100% of the price. You must still show you can repay the whole loan: BOQ assesses you without the guarantor's income.
What does a family guarantee cost?
St.George charges no extra fee for Family Pledge, though standard guarantee and legal fees apply. Suncorp Bank charges $200 per guarantor. CommBank adds a Security Guarantee fee to the loan without publishing the amount, and Heritage lists land titles registration and independent legal advice among the costs (as at 29 September 2026).
Can a guarantor loan be used for an investment property?
At some lenders. Westpac allows it if you own no other property, and ANZ and Great Southern Bank allow it. St.George, Bank of Melbourne, BankSA and Heritage allow it only for first home buyers buying an investment property. BOQ does not, and NAB and ING do not say.
Can the guarantor still have a mortgage on their own home?
At some lenders. St.George, Bank of Melbourne, BankSA and Heritage let the guarantor keep their home loan elsewhere. Bankwest requires it to move to Bankwest, and BOQ needs a mortgage-free home. The guarantor's own lender may also have to consent to a second mortgage.
Sources
Each source was checked on 29 September 2026.
- Westpac: Family Security Guarantee
- Westpac: guarantor Information Statement (PDF)
- St.George: Family Pledge
- Bank of Melbourne: Family Pledge
- BankSA: Family Pledge
- CommBank: Guarantor Support
- CommBank: guarantor information sheet (PDF, July 2025)
- CommBank: low deposit options
- CommBank: low deposit options guide (PDF)
- Bankwest: guarantor home loans
- ANZ: ANZ Security Guarantee
- ANZ: guarantors guide
- NAB: what is a home loan guarantor
- NAB: becoming a guarantor (PDF)
- BOQ: Family Guarantee
- Heritage Bank: Family Guarantee
- Great Southern Bank: buying your first home
- ING: guarantor loan FAQ
- Macquarie: credit guidelines (PDF, 10 September 2026)
- Macquarie: variations and consents (broker help)
- Suncorp Bank: lending fees and charges (PDF)
- Suncorp Bank: guarantor guide (PDF)
- Bendigo Bank: 5% Deposit Scheme for single parents
- Moneysmart: going guarantor on a loan
- APRA: prudential standard APS 112
- firsthomebuyers.gov.au: 5% Deposit Scheme
- firsthomebuyers.gov.au: 5% Deposit Scheme price caps
- 5% Deposit Scheme Information Guide (PDF)
- Housing Australia Investment Mandate Direction 2018
- firsthomebuyers.gov.au: Help to Buy
- firsthomebuyers.gov.au: Help to Buy income thresholds
- firsthomebuyers.gov.au: Help to Buy price caps
Researched and maintained by
PhD in Financial Studies, 5 years in finance
Every figure on this page comes from a lender, insurer, government or regulator source listed above. Read our editorial policy.