CBA LMI Calculator (Independent Estimate)
Independent estimate, not CommBank's figure. LMI Calculator Australia is not affiliated with or endorsed by Commonwealth Bank of Australia. The range is built from LMI figures published by Australian lenders, and it is not a CBA rate: CBA publishes none. Only CBA and its insurer, Arch, set the premium on a CBA loan, and CBA decides whether you pay LMI or its Low Deposit Premium.
Free · No sign-up · Checked 29 September 2026
Your result
You may not need to pay LMI. The 5% Deposit Scheme lets eligible buyers purchase with a 5% deposit and no LMI, up to $1,500,000 in this area. The estimate below is what you would pay without it.
- Loan
- $630,000
- LVR
- 90.0%
Likely LMI
$9,400 to $16,600
Typical lender figure: $12,600
- Duty on LMI in New South Wales: none. Exempt for premiums paid on or after 1 July 2017.
- LVR after adding LMI to the loan: 91.3% to 92.4%.
- To avoid LMI: add $70,000 to your deposit to reach 20%. Try the home deposit calculator.
Closest published lender figures
Range built from 27 LMI figures published by 8 Australian lenders, checked 29 September 2026. How this is calculated.
Estimate only. General information, not credit or financial advice. Your lender and its insurer set the actual LMI premium.
To get CBA's own figure, use CommBank's upfront costs (stamp duty) calculator (commbank.com.au), which CBA says gives indicative LMI quotes, or read its LMI page (commbank.com.au). Ask CBA whether your loan would carry LMI or a Low Deposit Premium.
Comparing banks? Our LMI calculator gives the same lender-neutral range for every state.
In short
- CBA's own guide puts LMI at $9,000 on a $450,000 loan at 90% LVR, added to make a $459,000 loan.
- Arch has insured new CBA loans since early 2026. Before that CBA used Helia, whose contract expired on 31 December 2025.
- CBA charges either LMI or its Low Deposit Premium on a low deposit loan, never both, and refunds neither.
- CBA's 95% maximum LVR includes the premium, and CBA adds every premium to the loan.
- CBA takes part in the 5% Deposit Scheme and Help to Buy, and both remove LMI for eligible buyers.
How much is LMI on a CBA loan?
| Home price | LVR | Loan | Typical LMI | NSW range, no duty | WA range, top incl 10% duty | LVR with typical LMI added |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| $500,000 | 90% | $450,000 | $9,000 | $6,700 to $11,900 | $6,700 to $13,100 | 91.8% |
| $500,000 | 95% | $475,000 | $20,000 | $14,000 to $25,000 | $14,000 to $27,500 | 99.0% |
| $750,000 | 90% | $675,000 | $13,500 | $10,100 to $17,800 | $10,100 to $19,600 | 91.8% |
| $750,000 | 95% | $712,500 | $29,900 | $21,000 to $37,500 | $21,000 to $41,200 | 99.0% |
CBA's own published LMI figures
| Source | Scenario | Published LMI | Our NSW range | Where it sits | Document date | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CommBank low deposit options guide, form 005-855 (PDF) | $500,000 price, $50,000 deposit, $450,000 loan (90% LVR) | $9,000 | $6,700 to $11,900 | Inside our range | Form 005-855 010226, PDF created 7 Nov 2025 | 29 September 2026 |
| CommBank LMI page | $500,000 loan with a 10% deposit (90% LVR) | Over $10,000 | $7,500 to $13,200 | Inside our range | Not dated | 29 September 2026 |
Which insurer does CBA use for LMI?
Arch insures new CBA home loans. CBA's low deposit options guide (form 005-855) names "Arch Lenders Mortgage Indemnity", ABN 60 074 042 934, as "the LMI provider". The change came at the start of 2026: Helia says its supply contract with CBA expired on 31 December 2025 and that it wrote no CBA new business from 31 January 2026, and Fitch (10 September 2026) lists CBA as a new Arch customer from early 2026.
Arch is not new to the big banks. It bought Westpac's own LMI insurer in 2021, so the same company now insures the Westpac group, covered on our Westpac LMI calculator page. Fitch calls Arch Indemnity "Australia's largest LMI provider by gross written premiums". We found no public Arch rate table or estimator.
A CBA loan insured before 2026 most likely still sits with Helia. Helia says it will keep earning revenue from existing CBA policies over the next 15 years; CBA itself does not say which insurer holds older loans. For how the insurers fit together, see lenders mortgage insurance.
Does CBA waive LMI for some professions?
Yes, but CBA publishes few rules. Its low deposit page asks doctors, lawyers and accountants to speak to a Home Lending Specialist "to check if your profession is eligible for a LMI waiver with a deposit of as little as 10%". Its health package names GPs, medical specialists, dentists, pharmacists, vets and junior doctors (interns, residents and registrars), and a footnote excludes physiotherapists, psychologists and nurses. CBA states no LVR, income or loan limit for the waiver, so the conditions are CBA's to confirm.
Compare other banks in our LMI waiver guide, or see home loans for doctors.
CBA Guarantor Support
CBA's family guarantee is called Guarantor Support, and CBA says it may let you avoid paying LMI or a Low Deposit Premium. Its guide adds that LMI and LDP are "generally" not available when you have a guarantor, so at CBA a guarantee usually replaces LMI rather than sitting beside it. How guarantees compare across lenders: guarantor home loan.
Bankwest and Unloan do not follow CBA's LMI rules
Both are CBA divisions, but CBA's LMI terms above do not carry over to either.
- Bankwest lets you pay LMI upfront or add it to the loan "without any mark-up from Bankwest", and its LMI fact sheet says a partial refund may be available on certain policies if you repay, refinance or switch lenders in the first year. Bankwest names no insurer on the consumer pages we read, so we name none. Its broker checklist confirms an Industry Professional LMI waiver, but Bankwest does not publish who qualifies.
- Unloan says you can buy with a 10% deposit and no LMI, "however a higher interest rate applies". The LVR must stay below 90%, Unloan caps above-80% lending at $2,000,000, and some locations or property types are held to 70%. Unloan's article also shows LMI ranges on a $1,000,000 loan, but those are a general illustration, not Unloan or CBA pricing, so they are not in our table.
Neither Bankwest nor Unloan appears as a separate name on the 5% Deposit Scheme lender list.
CBA, the 5% Deposit Scheme and Help to Buy
CBA is a Participating Lender in the 5% Deposit Scheme. An eligible first home buyer can buy with a 5% deposit (2% for an eligible single parent), the government guarantees part of the loan, and CBA's scheme page lists "No LMI" among the benefits. On a $500,000 home that avoids a typical $20,000 of LMI at 95%, and with no premium to add, the loan stays at 95%. The deposit must be at least 5% and under 20% of the lender's valuation, and price caps apply by area.
CBA is also one of six Help to Buy lenders as at 29 September 2026, and says it is "currently the only major Lender participating in the Scheme". Under the Help to Buy scheme the government takes an equity share and you can buy with 2%, so your deposit and its share cover at least 20% and no LMI is paid at purchase. You cannot use both schemes on one purchase. Every other route is in how to avoid LMI.
Can you get CBA LMI refunded or moved?
No refund. CBA says LMI and LDP are "one-off non-refundable, non-transferrable charges", including if you repay early, refinance or your LVR falls below 80%. Each premium covers that loan only, so a new loan above 80% will most likely pay again, and a top-up or restructure that lifts the LVR above 80% (or lower in some cases) brings a new or extra LMI or LDP.
You can sometimes keep the loan and swap the property. CBA offers substitution of security on most home and investment loans for $300 per security, but if the loan has LMI, "our LMI provider will need to review and approve the request".
CBA LMI questions
Does CBA add LMI to the home loan?
Yes. CBA says all LMI premiums are capitalised, which means added to the loan, when the loan settles. In CBA's own example, $450,000 plus $9,000 of LMI makes a $459,000 loan, which is 91.8% of the $500,000 price.
Can CBA charge LMI below 80% LVR?
Sometimes. CBA's guide calls 80% its standard lending margin and adds that in some circumstances it can be lower, so LMI or a Low Deposit Premium can apply to a loan under 80% of the value.
Who is CommBank's LMI insurer?
Arch Lenders Mortgage Indemnity Ltd insures new CBA home loans from early 2026, and CBA's own guide names it as the LMI provider. Before that CBA used Helia, whose supply contract with CBA expired on 31 December 2025.
Is this CBA's own LMI calculator?
No. This is an independent estimate built from LMI figures Australian lenders publish, and the site is not affiliated with CommBank. CBA says its own upfront costs (stamp duty) calculator gives indicative LMI quotes, and only CBA and its insurer set your premium.
How much will CBA lend on an investment property?
CBA cut its maximum LVR for investment home loans to 90% in March 2017 and has published no later figure. Its rates page still limits investment interest-only rates to LVRs below 90%.
Sources
Each source was checked on 29 September 2026.
- CommBank: Lenders Mortgage Insurance page
- CommBank: low deposit options guide, form 005-855 (PDF)
- CommBank: Low Deposit Premium
- CommBank: home loan interest rates
- CommBank: loan to value ratio help page
- CommBank: investor LVR change, March 2017
- CommBank: low deposit home loan options
- CommBank: health professional home lending
- CommBank: Guarantor Support
- CommBank: substitution of security guide (PDF)
- CommBank: 5% Deposit Scheme page
- CommBank: upfront costs (stamp duty) calculator
- Arch: Australia LMI
- Arch: about Arch LMI in Australia
- Fitch Ratings: Arch Lenders Mortgage Indemnity rating affirmed, 10 September 2026
- Helia: 2025 Annual Report and 1H26 earnings release (helia.com.au)
- Bankwest: LMI fact sheet (PDF)
- Bankwest: broker application checklist (PDF)
- Unloan: what is LMI
- firsthomebuyers.gov.au: 5% Deposit Scheme Participating Lenders
- 5% Deposit Scheme Information Guide, 1 July 2026 (PDF)
- firsthomebuyers.gov.au: Help to Buy Participating Lenders
- ANZ: published LMI example (Item No. 97349D 04.2024)
- ANZ: published LMI example (Item No. 97349A 08.2024)
- ME Bank: published LMI example (8 Jul 2025)
- ANZ: published LMI example (modified 1 May 2025)
- Keystart: published LMI example (not stated)
- Great Southern Bank: published LMI example (2021-07-22)
- Homestar Finance: published LMI example (not stated)
- loans.com.au: published LMI example (2025-03-06)
- Credit Union SA: published LMI example (2021-08-10)
Researched and maintained by
PhD in Financial Studies, 5 years in finance
Every figure on this page comes from a lender, insurer, government or regulator source listed above. Read our editorial policy.